Skip to: search, navigation, or content.


Indiana University Bloomington

Institute for Social Impact

Participate in Alternative Break Program

CLD student member participates in the Alternative Break program

Travel. Meet new people. Make an impact. 

The Alternative Break Program provides opportunities for students to travel domestically and abroad to address social challenges. Our trips immerse you in a new environment, providing an experiential understanding of challenging social issues. 

You'll return to campus with the skill set and experience you need to lead direct service efforts in your communities. Further, Alternative Break trips prepare future business leaders to incorporate civic values into the culture of business.

Want to participate in the Alternative Break Program? To get started, register as a member of the CLD. Learn more under the trip application tab, below. 

Site Leaders for 2014-15
Applications are now being accepted for student site leaders for Thanksgiving, winter, and spring break trips in the 2014-15 school year. Apply here by 11:59 pm on Sunday, April 6.


The Alternative Break Program board is comprised of dedicated site leaders who work with the executive council to carry out important tasks for the ABP throughout the year.  

ABP Board Members

  Name: Kristyn Crawford  
Position: President, ABP
Email: kriscraw@indiana.edu
  Name: Kristin Budzik  
Position: Vice-President, ABP
Email: kbudzik@indiana.edu
 
  Name: Kelsey Crawford  
Position: Vice-President, ABP
Email: kelcrawf@indiana.edu
  Name: Kristin Froehle  
Position: Vice-President, ABP
Email: kfroehle@indiana.edu
 
  Name: Shelby Honekamp  
Position: Vice-President, ABP
Email: shonekam@indiana.edu
  Name: Jim Allega  
Position: Board Member, ABP
Email: jwallega@indiana.edu
 
  Name: Stephen Anderson  
Position: Board Member, ABP
Email: sla2@indiana.edu
  Name: Ruting Ge  
Position: Board Member, ABP
Email: rutige@indiana.edu
 
  Name: Aseem Goel  
Position: Board Member, ABP
Email: asgoel@indiana.edu
  Name: Skip Johnson  
Position: Board Member, ABP
Email: mj88@indiana.edu
 
  Name: Mark Juretschke  
Position: Board Member, ABP
Email: majurets@indiana.edu
  Name: Hillary Nolting  
Position: Board Member, ABP
Email: hnolting@indiana.edu
 
  Name: Jessica Pineda  
Position: Board Member, ABP
Email: pinedaj@indiana.edu
  Name: Josh Skwarczyk  
Position: Board Member, ABP
Email: jskwarcz@indiana.edu
 
  Name: Michelle Spivak  
Position: Board Member, ABP
Email: mespivak@indiana.edu
  Name: Sydney Thomas  
Position: Board Member, ABP
Email: sydthoma@indiana.edu
 
  Name: Zi Wang  
Position: Board Member, ABP
Email: zw23@indiana.edu
  Name: Sahan Weliwita  
Position: Board Member, ABP
Email: sweliwit@indiana.edu