Skip to: search, navigation, or content.

Indiana University Bloomington

Executive Degree Programs

Kelley School of Business
1275 E. 10th St.
Bloomington, IN 47405

No GMAT/GRE required

Enterprise Architecture Certificate Program


Enterprise Architecture (EA) is a multi-disciplinary, Best-Practice method to enable strategic analysis, planning, and transformation of an organization.

Today’s fast-changing business environment requires targeted business capabilities, optimized supporting processes, aligned systems, and well-organized transition plans. Business operating models and technological options are evolving at an ever-increasing rate and EA enables organizations to stay ahead of the curve.

The Indiana University Enterprise Architecture Certificate Program offered by the Kelley School of Business provides hands-on instruction in each of the EA disciplines, as well as, a comprehensive approach to integrate the methods and products to enable successful business and technological analysis, alignment, and transition.

The most widely adopted EA frameworks will be covered, including:

  • The Open Group Architecture Framework (TOGAF)
  • The Department of Defense Architecture Framework (DoDAF)
  • The Federal Enterprise Architecture (FEA) framework

Who should apply?

This certificate is geared towards entry to middle level management and technology professionals.

Program Structure and Delivery

The program will be delivered in a blended format with face-to-face instruction, video conferencing and web-based learning.

  • Typical program duration is five months
  • Consists of four courses, taught sequentially
  • Each course will last four weeks and include a one-day in-residence

Certificate Credits - 12 Credit Hours

  • The EA certificate will be issued by Indiana University
  • Up to 12 credits could be transferred to the Kelley School of Business Executive MBA program or the MSIS graduate degree program (subject to admission requirements).
  • Students will, also, be prepared to sit for the TOGAF certification exams (Part 1 and Part 2)


All four required courses are three-graduate credit hours and four weeks in duration

1. Strategic Management

  • Topics covered will include an overview of business strategy and operating models, stakeholder and environmental analysis, business case design, transition planning, links between strategic management and business operating models, and EA project management fundamentals.

2. EA Principles

  • Topics covered will include fundamentals of EA, business drivers and value propositions for EA initiatives, overview and comparison of major EA frameworks, EA methods and products (artifacts), and EA governance and maturity models.

3. EA Methods and Models

  • Topics covered will include advanced EA methods, advanced EA artifact creation (including process, data and object modeling), use of EA tools and repositories, gap analysis, transition planning, roadmap construction and integration with other enterprise projects.

4. IT Management and Operations

  • Topics covered will include systems development methodologies (agile, lean, and others), enterprise applications (ERPs, Data Warehouses/BI), major industry trends (XaaS, cloud, mobility, social media), basics of information security, basics of IT strategy and IT service management.